Feels Like Home To Me

Allow me to be sentimental, just for this post. I was listening to Chantal Kreviazuk’s Feels Like Home and suddenly, I remember this one person who always felt home to me.

I’m not going to name names, but what I’m sure of is, this person makes me feel at home with him, with myself, and with the world.

I was watching Something Borrowed the other day and I got touched with the line of Ethan, telling Rachel that being with her feels like home to him. And I got struck, and I got myself thinking, maybe its because there’s someone I feel most at home with.

And I saw him, again. Today. And it felt like seeing him for the very first time, and suddenly, I felt home. It was an inch of time, his greeting, before he went on his way. But it got etched in my heart.

I remember the feeling of being lost when he was away for a while, and somehow feeling safe again when I learned of his return.

Crazy. For the longest time, I believed it was because of how long we’ve known each other. But at this moment, it makes perfect sense to me. It makes perfect sense how it’s always him I run to whenever something’s going on in my life that I don’t want to tell anyone else. How it’s okay to not talk when we’re together, and just simply be in silence. How I get him and how he gets me.

I felt home. I felt accepted for being who I am, no need for pretensions, just me. No matter how awkward I am. Or the fact that I am on a discovery trip of knowing what I really want. I felt that I wasn’t judged from jumping from one area to the other, to see where I’d bloom.

I think I’ve never felt this way before about anyone.
And I like this feeling.

I honestly don’t know what he feels, but I do hope, it’s the same.

It feels like home to me, feels like home to me.
Feels like I’m on my way back to where I belong.

Leave a Reply

